EpilepsyRx

Eslicarbazepine

Aptiom

DailyMed-verified antiseizure indications

Indication / use

Label / evidence summary
Aptiom: focal-onset (partial-onset) seizures from age 4 years.
Role
Maintenance
Class
Active sodium-channel modulator; administered as the acetate prodrug

Indications checked 26 September 2026. Product, route, age, and treatment-role limits apply. A DailyMed listing alone does not establish FDA approval.

Formulations & strengths

U.S. products unless another country is named. Strengths are per unit or stated volume.

Brand & formulation labels

Each link names the product and formulation it covers. Archived labels do not establish current availability.

Dosing & administration

Adult / product-specific schedule
400 mg once daily, then 800–1,600 mg once daily.
Pediatric
Age ≥4 years: weight-based once-daily dosing.
Titration / repeat dosing
Adults: 400 mg once daily; after 1 week increase to 800 mg daily. If needed, increase by 400–600 mg at weekly intervals to 1,200–1,600 mg daily. Pediatric titration is weight based, no more often than weekly.
Dose basis
All doses below refer to the marketed eslicarbazepine acetate formulation (Aptiom).

Dose adjustment & concentrations

Renal impairment
Reduce initial and maintenance dose by 50% when CrCl <50 mL/min.
Hepatic impairment
No adjustment mild–moderate; not studied severe.
Serum reference information
No established therapeutic range

Safety

Boxed warning
No boxed warning.
Contraindications
Hypersensitivity to eslicarbazepine acetate or oxcarbazepine.
Serious precautions & monitoring
Monitor sodium when indicated; clinically significant hyponatremia can worsen seizures. Serious rash, DRESS, anaphylaxis/angioedema, liver injury and hematologic abnormalities require evaluation. Dose-related dizziness, ataxia and visual effects.

Common / selected adverse effects

  • Dizziness
  • Somnolence
  • Nausea
  • Headache
  • Diplopia

Drug interactions: toxicity & clinical action

Partner / combinationClinical effectClinical action
Phenytoin / other CYP2C19 substratesEslicarbazepine inhibits CYP2C19; phenytoin can rise and cause ataxia/diplopia.Monitor phenytoin and adjust if toxicity occurs.
Carbamazepine or other enzyme-inducing ASMsLower eslicarbazepine exposure; carbamazepine also increases dizziness/diplopia.Review both doses and tolerability. Do not coadminister with oxcarbazepine.
Hormonal contraceptivesReduced estrogen/progestin exposure.Use additional/alternative nonhormonal contraception.

Pregnancy & contraception

Fetal / neonatal risk
Human pregnancy data for eslicarbazepine acetate are insufficient to define risk. Animal studies found malformations, embryofetal loss and impaired fetal growth at clinically relevant doses.
Contraception
Aptiom reduces ethinylestradiol/levonorgestrel exposure. Use additional or alternative nonhormonal contraception during treatment and for at least one menstrual cycle after stopping, as directed by the label.

Clinical evidence

Research summaries describe studied populations and outcomes; they do not add indications or constitute treatment recommendations.

Direct pivotal trial

Trial summary

Study design / duration
Three randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled adjunctive trials in adults with focal seizures; 8-week baseline, 2-week titration, and 12-week maintenance.
Primary endpoint
No single pivotal endpoint is identified in the cited source.
Results
Three pivotal adjunctive focal-seizure trials showed median seizure-frequency reductions of roughly 32–35% at 800 mg and 35–39% at 1,200 mg versus 15–21% with placebo.

Trial publications

Mechanism of action

  • Drug identity: eslicarbazepine is the active S-licarbazepine molecule. Aptiom contains eslicarbazepine acetate, an ester prodrug hydrolyzed to eslicarbazepine.
  • Target: voltage-gated sodium channels. Inhibition of sodium-channel activity is thought to limit repetitive neuronal firing; the precise human antiseizure mechanism remains incompletely established.
  • Relationship: oxcarbazepine produces both S- and R-licarbazepine (collectively MHD). The acetate prodrug produces predominantly S-licarbazepine. These products have different dosing and are not interchangeable milligram for milligram.

Pharmacology

Adult values unless specified. Vd/F denotes apparent oral distribution volume.

Pharmacokinetics

Bioavailability
The administered acetate prodrug is well absorbed and rapidly hydrolyzed; >90% of the dose is recovered in urine as eslicarbazepine-related material. A separate absolute bioavailability for administered active eslicarbazepine is not specified.
Elimination half-life
Active eslicarbazepine: 13–20 hours in adults with epilepsy; 10–16 hours in pediatric patients.
Volume of distribution
Apparent volume for active eslicarbazepine approximately 61 L in a 70-kg patient (population PK).
Active metabolite(s)
Eslicarbazepine IS the principal active product of the administered acetate prodrug (~91% of systemic exposure). Minor active products of that prodrug are R-licarbazepine (~5%) and oxcarbazepine (~1%).
Active-metabolite half-life
Principal active eslicarbazepine: 13–20 hours in adults. Separate half-lives for the minor active products after Aptiom are not reported in the cited label.
Protein binding
<40%
Metabolism / elimination
Acetate prodrug → eslicarbazepine by hydrolysis; subsequent glucuronidation and renal elimination.

The profile is named for active eslicarbazepine; it must not be described as converting to itself. Renal function affects its clearance.

Molecular structure

Molecular structure of Eslicarbazepine — active S-licarbazepine
Active molecule shown (PubChem CID 9881504), not the acetate ester prodrug supplied in Aptiom.
NIH PubChem structure and record ↗

Product history

Initial U.S. approval
2013
Brands
Aptiom
Manufacturer / marketer
Sunovion/Sumitomo Pharma America (Aptiom)
Generic availability
Yes; market availability varies
Related drugs
Eslicarbazepine (S-licarbazepine) is also the predominant component of oxcarbazepine’s active MHD mixture. Carbamazepine is structurally related.

Sources & review status

Representative sources are selected product labels, not an exhaustive list of generic manufacturers. Consult the exact product and formulation prescribed. Brand-name package inserts are linked separately.

Brand reference: Aptiom ↗

Indications and DailyMed PDFs checked: 2026-09-26. Other profile sources reviewed: 2026-09-15 · label revision noted at that review: 3/2019. This is a draft reference; final review is pending.